I took Popehat’s words to heart yesterday. I think it’s time that I started writing again, for myself and to encourage others to do the same. The world needs more thoughts and dialogues. The problem is: I don’t know a good place to start.

I’ve been wandering in a fugue since the results came back. I’ve gone to my bookshelves a lot to look for a quote from a work or experience the texture of an author’s prose. Looking through these books has been a solace. I think I can put together a reading list that explains how I’ve come to believe the things I do. I want to start an honest dialogue.

I’m identifying books in a Google Doc that I will make available to anyone who asks. I intend to pair two or more books together on a theme when I write about them. Ideas and stories contain more meaning juxtaposed with other works.

This seems futile. Hate has again been institutionalized, and we have to deal with the consequences. But we have an obligation to resist, speak, and struggle.

